Anchorage, Alaska – March 12, 2019 – Alaskans Together for Equality (Alaskans Together) Alaska’s largest membership-based statewide lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) civil rights organization, announced its endorsements for the upcoming 2019 Anchorage Municipal elections today. The ATE board conducted the selection of candidates for endorsement based on a thorough candidate questionnaire submitted to the organization in late February. The board reviewed all submissions and based on the responses received considered all eligible candidates for possible endorsement.

Ballots will be arriving this week and we hope you’re ready to let your voice be heard!

If you need a reminder of just how important these local elections are, look no further than Fairbanks, where a hard-fought non-discrimination ordinance passed the city council only to be vetoed by the mayor on a few weeks ago. Until LGBTQ+ rights are guaranteed at the federal level, they will have to be won and defended in our local communities — sometimes over and over again.

With that in mind, Alaskans Together for Equality has endorsed the following candidates for the upcoming Anchorage election. These are candidates who are committed to the fundamental principles of justice, fairness and equality, and we’re honored to support their campaigns.
Click on any name to visit each campaign’s website and learn more about the candidates and their platforms and help spread the word on Facebook by sharing our endorsements by clicking here.
Anchorage Assembly
District 2: Oliver Schiess
District 3: Kameron Perez-Verdia
District 4: Meg Zaletel
District 5: Forrest Dunbar
Anchorage School Board
Seat A: Margo Bellamy
Seat B: Starr Marsett
Remember that Anchorage elections are VOTE BY MAIL. Click here to learn more. Ballots will be sent out starting this week and must be mailed in or hand-delivered by Election Day, Tuesday, April 2. We have included the secure drop box locations for easy reference below.
Thank you for voting and making your voice heard. Together, we can ensure we retain a pro-equality majority on the Anchorage Assembly and School Board.


All ballots must be dropped at any of these secure drop boxes by 8 p.m. on April 2nd. 

Anchorage School District Education Center
5530 East Northern Lights Boulevard
Bartlett High School
1101 Golden Bear Drive
Begich Middle School
7440 Creekside Center Drive
City Hall
632 West 6th Avenue, Parking Lot
Clark Middle School
150 Bragaw Street
Dimond High School
2909 West 88th Avenue
Eagle River Town Center
12001 Business Boulevard
Election Center
619 East Ship Creek Avenue
Fairview Community Recreation Center
1121 East 10th Avenue
Girdwood Community Center
250 Egloff Drive
Loussac Library
3600 Denali Street
Service High School
5577 Abbott Road
South Anchorage High School
13400 Elmore Road
Spenard Community Recreation Center
2020 West 48th Avenue
UAA Alaska Airlines Center
3550 Providence Drive
West Anchorage High School
1700 Hillcrest Drive

 Help spread the word by sharing this announcement on social media.  You can use the button below.

This communication is paid for by Alaskans Together For Equality, Inc., P.O. Box 202453, Anchorage, AK 99520. Elias Rojas, president approves this message. This NOTICE TO VOTERS is required by Alaska law. I certify that this communication is not paid for, or approved by any candidate or candidate’s committee.