Anchorage Municipal Election Endorsements 2017


Alaskans Together for Equality (ATE) Alaska’s largest statewide lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) civil rights organization, announced its endorsements for the upcoming 2017 Regular Anchorage Municipal Election today. ATE board conducted the selection of candidates for endorsement based on candidate survey responses.

“This is a very important election for the LGBT community and the city of Anchorage,” said Elias Rojas, ATE board president. “Anchorage is a welcoming and diverse place. The candidates we’ve endorsed are committed to that diversity and protecting the rights of all Alaskans.”

ATE endorsed seven (7) candidates in total. Two (2) candidates, Christopher Constant (Assembly District 1) and Felix Rivera (Assembly District 4), are members of the LGBTQ community.

“We are very excited to support Chris and Felix as candidates from our own community,” Rojas said.  “This is a historic moment for us.  We hope that in the future, we have the opportunity to support more LGBTQ candidates in races across the state.”

Alaskans Together for Equality endorsed the following Anchorage candidates:


*Indicates an LGBTQ candidate

Anchorage Assembly District 1, Downtown: Christopher Constant* (website)

Anchorage Assembly, District 2, Eagle River: Gretchen Wehmhoff (website)

Anchorage Assembly, District 3, West Anchorage: Tim Steele (website)

Anchorage Assembly, District 4, Midtown: Felix Rivera* (website)

Anchorage Assembly, District 6, South Anchorage: Suzanne LaFrance (website)


School Board Seat C: James Smallwood (website)

School Board Seat D: Andy Holleman (website)


Early voting begins Monday, March 20 and Election Day is Tuesday, April 4.  

Alaskans Together for Equality is Alaska’s largest LGBT civil rights organization with a focus on advancing civil equality for all Alaskans through grassroots organizing and advocacy. For more information please visit: 


This communication is paid for by Alaskans Together For Equality, Inc., P.O. Box 202453, Anchorage, AK 99520. Elias Rojas, board president approves this message. This NOTICE TO VOTERS is required by Alaska law. I certify that this communication is not paid for, or approved by any candidate or candidate’s committee.